Skip navigation

My project for Halloween 2011 is going to be a TRON Legacy costume. It won’t be anything very specific, but I will loosely base it off of Sam Flynn’s suit from the film.

There will be two layers.

Under layer: Simple tight-fitting black clothing. I am debating whether or not to get a spandex body suit for this or to just wear what I have available.

Armor layer: Will be made using cardboard and left-over polyethylene foam sheet from my Iron Man costume. I have purchased a 5 meter roll of SMT LEDs mounted on a strip. I will use these to illuminate the armor layer. There will be at least 6 armor pieces: Chest, Back, Upper Arms (2), and Thighs (2). Depending on the mobility and time, I may add Forearms and Shins. The idea is to use the armor pieces as mounting points for the LEDs. Minimal armor is best. The back armor will be used to mount the identity disc(s).

Which brings me to the next point. The identity disc. These will be modified Disney Delux Tron Identity Disc toys.

Reference photos:

And there was an interesting artwork I found online with the suit simplified:

Leave a Reply

